The work and investments of First 5 El Dorado are guided by a nine member Commission. Commissioners are appointed by the El Dorado County Board of Supervisors in compliance with the California Children and Families Act and local ordinance. Commissioners represent the fields of education, health, mental health and local government.

As a public entity, the Commission bases its decision making processes on local and state regulations with input from the community. The Commission operates in accordance with the Brown Act Open Meetings for Local Legislative Bodies. Public comment is welcomed and invited at all times.

The Commission:

  • Advocate for children, and families and individuals within their community within the collective impact framework.

  • Respect the diversity, strength, identity, and potential of all children, individuals, families, and communities.

  • Address the structural and institutional practices that marginalize children, individuals, families, and communities.

  • Solicit and listen to the ideas of stakeholders and others, encouraging a reflective and open dialogue.

  • Employ a collaborative, transparent and inclusionary process.

  • Make investments that are research based, long range and visionary.

  • Focus on enhancing and supporting existing systems to achieve the Commission mission.

  • Act responsibly, making First 5 an accountable steward of public funding.


Ginger Swigart; Chair

Retired Early Childhood Administrator

Community Representative

Other Boards & Commissions: Boys and Girls Club, Pollock Pines/Camino Rotary Club, NAEYC, and CAEYC.

Tammy Chako

Deputy Director, Child Welfare Services, EDC HHSA (SLT)

EDC Department Representative

Tahoe Women's Community Fund, Behavioral Health Network - South Lake Tahoe, Community Health Advisory Committee, Tahoe Chamber, Leadership Lake Tahoe, Soroptimist International of Tahoe Sierra - Board of Director


Sue Novasel

Supervisor, District 5, El Dorado County

El Dorado County Board of Supervisors Representative


Janet Saitman

Community Member

Community Representative

Other Boards & Commissions: Latrobe School District, El Dorado County Habitat for Humanity, El Dorado Hills Chamber of Commerce, El Dorado Hills BACPAC 

Connie Z.jpg

Connie Zelinskey

Community Member

Community Representative

Other Boards & Commissions: Courthouse Reuse Blue Ribbon Committee Alternate

Washburn Photo_edited.jpg

Earl Washburn, MD; Vice Chair

Retired Pediatrician

Medical Representative

Manansala headshot_edited_edited.jpg

Dr. Ed Manansala

County Superintendent of Schools

Education Representative

Other Boards & Commissions: Other Boards & Commissions: Boys and Girls Club, El Dorado Community Foundation, El Dorado County Chamber of Commerce, Folsom Lake College Foundation

Don Semon for website.jpg

Don Semon

Director, EDC Health and Human Services Agency

EDC Department Representative

Drew head shot First 5.jpg

Drew Woodall, MA Ed

Retired Educator

Community Representative

Other Boards & Commissions: Georgetown Divide Ready By 21